tagged — arrrgggghhh

November 2, 2010

So, Joy, a close friend and wonderful doula, mother and wife who lives just far enough away, tagged me in her blog (can’t figure out how to do the links, so here is her blog thejoyofthis.wordpress.com). And since she knows I am sucker for those things; here I go:

1) What is your dream occupation?
I don’t have just one. Seriously. There are a lot of things I can see myself doing, loving and doing well. But my gut instinct is to say that it’s not really an occupation. Or at least in today’s use of it. I would love to work for myself. For my family. And that be it. Get up everyday, feed livestock and chickens, work around the house, bake bread, etc…maybe every once in a while, deliver a baby or two…yes, I would also like to be a midwife. And apparently a pioneer woman from the way my description sounds. Anyways. I just like to be hands on. Have a purpose. Doing household stuff now doesn’t have a purpose. There are no chickens waiting on me to feed them, there is no garden waiting to be weeded so we may have produce…you see what I mean? I am saying this because there are some of you who know me well and probably could never ever ever picture me living everyday life like a farmer. But if that is all I had to do and I was working for it and it for me, then totally.

2) What is the best dish that you can cook?
It’s been a while. But the last thing I was known for cooking was a baked portabello mushroom dish. And risotto.

3) Have you ever been mentioned in the newspaper? What for?
Yes. For winning 4th in my age division in an Austin running race. For being in an award winning play for school. And for my wedding announcement.

4) What’s the worst and/or most memorable job you’ve ever had?
I was a can-can dancer at a revue show in this little rinky dink pioneer town setting in Wimberley. I can’t say it was memorable because I was a teenager or the worst, but the fact that I was once a can-can dancer surely means something.

5) When you were a teenager, at what age did you envision yourself getting married? How old were you in reality when you got married?

I never envisioned it. I never even thought about it. Seriously. I was just so focused on getting out of the beautiful small town that I would now like to move back to that I never thought about what happens during or after college.

6) What’s your most hated household chore? What’s your favorite?
Picking up in general and putting away stuff, like folded laundry and piles just needing to be put away. I would scrub toilets, mop, sweep, vacuum all day if someone would pick up the piles first.

7) What’s your earliest memory?
I was three and we were visiting relatives in New Mexico. I was sitting on a cold porch in my huge purple jacket petting a kitty. It is a very real and visceral memory.

 

2 Responses to “tagged — arrrgggghhh”

  1. Bethany said

    My family has land south east of Austin (and north east of Houston), is that south east Texas then? anyway, it’s out in the middle of nowhere. Like a weekly trip to the store would be a big deal so self sufficiency would be best, out there. My Uncle owns it and wants to pass it on, he has no children and wants us (his nieces and nephews) to have it. We, Gabe, Marcus, Heather, and I are thinking about building (by hand at the moment) a vacation home out there that would possibly turn into a real home later. Perhaps you could join us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

